• Desert Learning Academy Teachers

     

    High School, Grades 9-12

    Ms. Melanie Borun, 760-778-0487 x2506, mborun@psusd.us

    • Core Classes: The Living Earth, Chemistry in the Earth System
    • Electives: Science of Health and Wellness, Forensic Science, Business Leadership, Business Finance
    • Degrees: Bachelor's degree in Biology from University of San Diego, Master's degree in Educational Administration and Supervision from Loyola University of Chicago
    • Teaching Credentials: Single Subject Life Science
    • Years in Education: 14
    • Online Learning Certification: Leading Edge 

    Mr. David Escamilla,  760-778-0487 x2512, dbarriosescamilla@psusd.us

    • Core Classes: Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, Integrated Math III
    • Degrees: Bachelor's degree in Industrial Engineering from San Carlos National University of Guatemala
    • Teaching Credentials: Single Subject Mathematics
    • Years in Education: 7
    • Additional Languages: Spanish

    Ms. Kirsten Skaggs, 760-778-0487 x2505, kskaggs@psusd.us

    • Core Classes: Physics in the Universe, Pre-Calculus
    • Electives: Computer Essentials, Art
    • Degrees: Bachelor's degree in Physics from UCLA, Juris Doctor from University of West Los Angeles
    • Teaching Credentials: Single Subject Physics, Single Subject Introductory Mathematics
    • Years in Education: 16
    • Online Learning Certification: Leading Edge 
    • Professional Licensure: California Bar, U.S. Patent Bar

    Ms. Theresa Smith, 760-778-0487 x2506, tsmith@psusd.us

    • Core Classes: English I, English II, English III, ERWC, AP English Language and Composition
    • Electives: Media Literacy
    • Degrees: Bachelor's degree in English from California State University, San Bernardino, Master's degree in Educational Technology from Azusa Pacific University.
    • Teaching Credentials: Single Subject English
    • Years in Education: 30
    • Online Learning Certification: Leading Edge 

    Ms. Mirta Valenzuela, 760-778-0487 x2511, mvalenzuela2@psusd.us

    • Core Classes: Spanish I, Spanish II, Spanish III, AP Spanish Language and Culture
    • Electives: Success 101, Freshman Seminar
    • Degrees: Bachelor's degree in Spanish and ESL from Andrews University in Michigan, Master's in Teaching English as a Second Language from Azusa Pacific University
    • Teaching Credentials: Single Subject Spanish, Single Subject English
    • Years in Education: 20
    • Online Learning Certification: Leading Edge 
    • Additional Languages: Spanish, Serbian, Croatian

    Mr. Roberto Wheaton, 760-778-0487 x2512, rwheaton@psusd.us

    • Core Classes: Civics, Economics, World History, U.S. History, AP World History, AP Government
    • Electives: Psychology, AP Psychology, Sociology, Social Problems
    • Degrees: Dual Bachelor’s degrees in Earth Science and Social Science from University of Idaho, Master’s degree in Administration from California State University, San Bernardino
    • Teaching Credentials: Single Subject Geoscience, Single Subject Social Science
    • Years in Education: 36
    • Online Learning Certification: Leading Edge 

     

    Middle School, Grades 6-8

    Ms. Maude Dabney, 760-778-0487 x2206, mdabney@psusd.us

    • Core Classes: Math, Science
    • Degrees: Bachelor's degree in Social Work from Point Loma Nazarene University, Master's degree in Teacher Leadership from National University, Master's degree in Curriculum & Instruction from University of Phoenix
    • Teaching Credential: Multiple Subject 
    • Years in Educations: 19 years
    • Online Learning Certification: Leading Edge

    Ms. Darci Syfert, 760-778-0487 x2204, dsyfert@psusd.us

    • Core Classes: English, Social Science
    • Degrees: Bachelor's degree from Concordia University, Irvine, Master's degree in Education
    • Teaching Credentials: Multiple Subject, Specialist Instruction in Special Education
    • Years in Education: 23 
    • Online Learning Certification: Leading Edge

     

    Elementary School, Grades K-5

    Ms. Lynn Yada, 760-778-0487 x2202, lyada@psusd.us

    • Degrees: Bachelor's degree in Liberal Studies from San Francisco State University, Master's degree in Clinical Psychology from Pepperdine University
    • Teaching Credential: Multiple Subject
    • Years in Education: 33
    • Online Learning Certification: Leading Edge
    • Professional Licensure: Marriage and Family Therapist (California)

     

    Special Programs

    Ms. Stacy Brennan, Special Education, 760-778-0487 x2508, sbrennan@psusd.us

    • Support Subjects: Mathematics, Reading, Writing
    • Degrees: Bachelor's degree in Special Education/General Education from Western Michigan University, Master's degree from Chapman University in Special Education, Maser's degree in Education (Middle Grades) from California State University, San Bernardino
    • Teaching Credentials: Multiple Subject, Resource Specialist, Specialist Instruction in Special Education
    • Years in Education: 26

    Ms. Jan Ligman, Rebound, 760-778-0487 x2205, jligman@psusd.us

    • Degrees: Dual Associate degrees in Early Childhood Education and Liberal Studies from College of the Desert, Bachelor's degree from Chapman University, Master's degree in Education from Chapman University
    • Teaching Credential: Multiple Subject
    • Years in Education: 21
    • Online Learning Certification: Leading Edge